Archive for the ‘Duets and collaborations’ Category

Brantley Gilbert – Welcome To Hazeville with Willie Nelson, Lukas Nelson, Colt Ford

Saturday, April 20th, 2019

Country music isn’t always about booze and heartaches by the number. A perennial theme in country music is roots, and sometimes those roots belong to marijuana plants.

This week, Brantley Gilbert released a new 4/20 anthem called “Welcome to Hazeville” featuring Colt Ford, Lukas Nelson and Willie Nelson.

Gilbert takes the lead and sings about hanging out with Willie “on that laidback vibe” and “blowing smoke like fire to a hay feed.”

David Letterman talks about love for Willie Nelson

Saturday, April 13th, 2019

Willie Nelson and Toby Keith, “Whiskey for My Men (and beer for my horses)

Thursday, April 11th, 2019

Willie Nelson sings on Rodney Crowell’s new album, “Texas”

Thursday, April 11th, 2019
Photo by Mark Humphrey/AP/REX/Shutterstock
by: Stephen Betts

Rodney Crowell, who has chronicled his Texas roots in song as well as in print, has enlisted a host of fellow Texans, including Willie Nelson, Lyle Lovett, Lee Ann Womack, Ronnie Dunn, Steve Earle, ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons and Randy Rogers, for Texas, an album of collaborations. The project will also feature such non-Texans as Vince Gill and Ringo Starr, the latter of whom was the first to reach out to Crowell to express interest in recording with the Houston native.

“For the last few years, I’d been writing Texas-centric songs and revisiting some of my tunes from as far back as the mid-Seventies,” Crowell says in a statement. “Last year, I started referring to the collection of songs as the Texas album…. Ray Kennedy and I took hold of the production reins, enlisted a cast of badass musicians and voilá, Texas was born.”

Texas will be released August 15th, just days after the iconic singer-songwriter is inducted into the Texas Country Music Hall of Fame in Carthage, Texas, on August 10th. The LP follows 2018’s formation of Crowell’s own record label, RC1, which issued his Acoustic Classics LP. Last year, he also released the original holiday collection Christmas Everywhere.

Rodney Crowell, Texas track listing:

1. “Flatland Hillbillies” (featuring  Lee Ann Womack & Randy Rogers)
2. “Caw Caw Blues” (featuring Vince Gill)
3. “56 Fury” (featuring Billy F Gibbons)
4. “Deep In the Heart of Uncertain Texas” (featuring Ronnie Dunn, Willie Nelson & Lee Ann Womack)
5. “You’re Only Happy When You’re Miserable” (featuring Ringo Starr)
6. “I’ll Show Me”
7. “What You Gonna Do Now” (featuring Lyle Lovett)
8. “The Border”
9. “Treetop Slim & Billy Lowgrass”
10. “Brown & Root, Brown & Root” (featuring Steve Earle)
11. “Texas Drought Part 1”

Happy birthday, Merle Haggard

Saturday, April 6th, 2019

We still miss Merle Haggard, born April 6, 1937, in Bakersfield, California.

Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard, “Don’t Think Twice (it’s all right)”

Wednesday, April 3rd, 2019

Paula Nelson and Jesse Dayton at Willie Nelson’s Luck Reunion (March 14, 2019)

Thursday, March 28th, 2019

Willie Nelson and George Strait, “Sing One With Willie” on new album,”

Wednesday, March 20th, 2019

by: Sarah Netemeyer

George Strait certainly knows how to attract a crowd— the star set a new record for a concert event at NRG Stadium with 80,108 fans in attendance, besting his previous attendance record set in 2013 of 80,020! According to The Houston Chronicle, Strait is one of five entertainers to have performed in front of more than 1 million Rodeo Houston fans.

When Strait introduced the lead single “Every Little Honky Tonk Bar” from Honky Tonk Time Machine, his new album due out March 29th, the crowd went wild and sang along. The legend’s grandson, Harvey, also joined him on stage for a special performance of “God and Country Music.” Strait co-produced his forthcoming album and wrote 8 of the 13 songs including a co-write and feature with Willie Nelson marking the first time the two have collaborated on a song.

Honky Tonk Time Machine Track Listing

1. “Every Little Honky Tonk Bar”
2. “Two More Wishes”
3. “Some Nights”
4. “God and Country Music” (with Harvey Strait)
5. “Blue Water”
6. “Sometimes Love”
7. “Código”
8. “Old Violin”
9. “Take Me Away”
10. “The Weight of the Badge”
11. “Honky Tonk Time Machine”
12. “What Goes Up”
13. “Sing One with Willie” (featuring Willie Nelson)
Written by George Strait, Willie Nelson, Bubba Strait and Buddy Cannon

Willie Nelson & LeeAnne Womack, “Mendocino County Line”

Monday, March 11th, 2019

Willie Nelson Stars and Guitars 2002

Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard

Sunday, March 10th, 2019

Willie Nelson, American Music Store (with Shelby Lynne)

Friday, March 8th, 2019

Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson, “Loving You Was Easier (than anything I’ll ever do again)

Friday, February 22nd, 2019

Willie Nelson and Lee Ann Womack, “Mendocino County Line”

Thursday, February 21st, 2019

Willie Nelson, Wynton Marsalis, Nora Jones, “Here We Go Again”

Tuesday, February 19th, 2019

01. Hallelujah I Love Her So (Gospel 2-beat / Boogaloo / 4/4 Swing)
02. Come Rain or Come Shine (Walking Ballad)
03. Unchain My Heart (Bolero with Habanera bass)
04. Cryin’ Time (Country Ballad)
05. Losing Hand (Dirge with Chain-Gang Shuffle)
06. Hit The Road Jack (Gospel 2-beat / 4/4 Swing)
07. I’m Moving On (Boogaloo with Afro-Latin Backbeat / 4/4 Swing)
08. Busted (Gospel 12/8 Shuffle)
09. Here We Go Again (Rhythm & Blues 12/8 Shuffle)
10. Makin’ Whoopie (Hard-Bop 2-beat / 4/4 Swing)
11. I Love You So Much (It Hurts) (Waltz)
12. What’d I Say (Boogaloo)

Willie Nelson Sings ‘Promiseland’ With Lukas Nelson, Dave Matthews

Sunday, February 10th, 2019
by: Joseph Hudak

Willie Nelson was the 2019 honoree when the Recording Academy’s Producers & Engineers Wing held its annual Grammy Week celebration on Wednesday in Los Angeles.

Recognizing the “artistic achievements and creative genius” of the Country Music Hall of Fame member, the event featured remarks from Kacey Musgraves, who praised Nelson’s unexpected role as a unifier. “He has this really unique ability to unite and really bring people together. It’s unlike any artist I can think of,” she said. “Underdogs, outliers, Republicans, rappers, presidents. Everyone loves Willie.”

The icon’s sons Micah Nelson and Lukas Nelson performed some of their father’s songs, including a moving rendition of “Living in the Promiseland,” the centerpiece track, written by David Lynn Jones, off Nelson’s 1986 album The Promiseland. Nelson himself joined in, along with special guest Dave Matthews, who earlier performed “Crazy” with Lukas Nelson. The evening ended with a customary sing-along of “On the Road Again.”

Along with Musgraves and Matthews, Ziggy Marley, Lisa Loeb, Feist, songwriter Diane Warren and “Weird Al” Yankovic were in attendance.

Nelson is the 11th artist to be recognized by the Producers & Engineers Wing. Past honorees include T Bone Burnett, Neil Young, Jack White, and Alicia Keys & Swizz Beatz.

Nelson is nominated for two Grammys at Sunday’s awards: Best American Roots Performance for the song “Last Man Standing” and Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album for his Frank Sinatra homage My Way. Earlier this week, he announced a new hemp-infused coffee as part of his Willie’s Remedy wellness line.