Archive for the ‘Duets and collaborations’ Category

Willie Nelson and Johnny Cash, “Family Bible”

Tuesday, November 27th, 2018

Willie Nelson and Dyan Cannon, “Loving You Is Easier”

Friday, November 23rd, 2018

Willie Nelson, Steven Tyler, and friends, “All You Need Is Love”

Wednesday, November 21st, 2018
by:  Ryan Reed

Sheryl Crow, Aloe Blacc, Eric Church others join all-star performance highlighting concert album/film ‘Imagine: John Lennon 75th Birthday Concert’

Willie Nelson, Steven Tyler, the Killers’ Brandon Flowers, Sheryl Crow, Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello, Aloe Blacc and Eric Church performed a celebratory version of the Beatles’ “All You Need Is Love” in a preview of the upcoming film/album Imagine: John Lennon 75th Birthday Concert. Kris Kristofferson, Peter Frampton, Kevin Bacon, Chris Stapleton, Train’s Pat Monahan, Eric Church and Juanes also joined for the song, which highlights the eclectic set, out on CD, DVD and LP via Blackbird Presents in January 2019.

The clip, which documents the titular 2015 concert at the Theater at Madison Square Garden, finds the singers harmonizing around a series of microphones as Lennon’s widow, Yoko Ono, applauds along. Monahan and Flowers tag-team the first verse, and the all-star crew unites on an extended chorus; Crow jumps in on the “all together, everybody” backing vocals, and Tyler adds sporadic raspy ad-libs.

“It’s beautiful to see so many wonderful and talented musicians come together for this special show to celebrate John’s birthday,” Ono said in a statement about the release. “John’s art continues to give hope, light and happiness to generations of people everywhere. His belief that each of us can change the world continues to inspire the human race to believe in themselves, and his influence is everlasting in everyone’s hearts as we all share in the possibilities and power of music.”

The show, along with interviews and behind-the-scenes footage, features covers from Lennon’s solo and Beatles catalogs – including Tyler’s take on “Come Together” (a song he covered in Aerosmith), Flowers’ “Instant Karma” and Crow’s “A Hard Day’s Night.” Other performers include the Roots, Spoon and John Fogerty.

Imagine: John Lennon 75th Birthday Concert Track List

CD & DVD Track List

1. “Come Together” – Steven Tyler
2. “Instant Karma” – Brandon Flowers
3. “Don’t Let Me Down” – Sheryl Crow; Brandon Flowers; Chris Stapleton
4. “Jealous Guy” – Pat Monahan
5. “A Hard Day’s Night” – Sheryl Crow
6. “In My Life” – John Fogerty
7. “Watching The Wheels” – Aloe Blacc
8. “Woman” – Juanes
9. “Hey Bulldog” – Spoon
10. “Working Class Hero” – Tom Morello; Kris Kristofferson
11. “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” – Aloe Blacc; Sheryl Crow; Peter Frampton
12. “Give Peace A Chance” – John Fogerty
13. “Mother” – The Roots
14. “Mind Games” – Eric Church
15. “Steel And Glass” – Aloe Blacc
16. “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)” – Peter Frampton
17. “You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away” – Kris Kristofferson; Willie Nelson; Chris Stapleton
18. “Revolution” – Eric Church; Steven Tyler (DVD only)
19. “Power To The People” – Tom Morello
20. “A Special Thank You From Yoko Ono” – Yoko Ono (DVD only)
21. “Imagine” – Willie Nelson
22. “All You Need Is Love” – Aloe Blacc; Eric Church; Sheryl Crow; John Fogerty; Peter Frampton; Brandon Flowers; Juanes; Kris Kristofferson; Pat Monahan; Tom Morello; Willie Nelson; The Roots; Spoon; Chris Stapleton; Steven Tyler

Willie Nelson and Sheryl Crow, “City of New Orleans”

Tuesday, November 13th, 2018

Willie Nelson and Paula Nelson, “Have You Ever Seen the Rain”

Sunday, November 11th, 2018

Willie Nelson and Josh Homme’s “Cruel Cruel World” Recordings From Red Dead Redemption 2

Thursday, November 8th, 2018
photo:  Jason Davis and Burak Cingi
by:  Rob Arcand

Willie Nelson and Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme have each recorded new music for the soundtrack to the massively popular Wild West video game Red Dead Redemption 2. Titled “Cruel Cruel World,” the new song was released in two forms: one with vocals from Willie Nelson, and the other as sung by Homme.

Earlier this week, a new D’Angelo song was rumored to be included on the game’s soundtrack. Since confirming D’Angelo’s involvement, the developers at Rockstar also let slip that Nas and Arca contributed music to the soundtrack in addition to Willie Nelson and Josh Homme. Like the D’Anglo single, both versions of “Cruel Cruel World” were produced by Daniel Lanois, who’s produced numerous albums for Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Peter Gabriel, U2, and more.


Warren Haynes, with Mickey Raphael “Soul Shine” (Farm Aid 2007)

Sunday, November 4th, 2018

Willie Nelson and Ray Price, “San Antonio Rose”

Tuesday, October 30th, 2018

I miss getting to see these two amazing artists sing this song together, when the crowd goes wild when Willie comes on stage during Ray’s set at Picnic, just as it starting to cool down at end of afternoon, and everyone gets revived after being in the Texas sun all day. Magical and refreshing.

Merle Haggard – Willie Nelson – Johnny Paycheck – The Anaheim Stadium Concert (October 1980)

Tuesday, October 23rd, 2018

Willie Nelson and Snoop Dogg, “Superman”

Saturday, October 20th, 2018

Willie Nelson with Ray Benson and Asleep at the Wheel, “Oh, You Pretty Woman”

Thursday, October 18th, 2018

Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard, in Roanoke, VA (October 16, 2015)

Tuesday, October 16th, 2018


On October 16, 2015, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard performed together at the Berglund Center Coliseum in Roanoke, VA.

We are all so lucky that Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard recorded together many times, and most teamed up for the album “Django and Jimmie.”


Willie Nelson duets with Ronnie Milsap on “Ronnie Milsap: The Duets” (out Jan. 18th, 2019)

Tuesday, October 16th, 2018

For his upcoming album, Country Music Hall of Famer Ronnie Milsap has enlisted the help of Dolly Parton, George Strait, Kacey Musgraves and more to help him sing some of his biggest hits.

“Ronnie Milsap: The Duets” is due out Jan. 18. The album finds Milsap and his guests collaborating on crossover classics like “Smoky Mountain Rain,” “Stranger in My House” and “Lost in the Fifties Tonight,” as well as a handful of new songs.

Two songs from the forthcoming project were released Monday: Milsap’s duet with Musgraves, “No Getting Over Me” (Milsap won a Grammy for the original version of the 1981 chart-topper), and “A Woman’s Love,” a collaboration with Willie Nelson. Nelson recorded a solo version of the song for his 2017 album, “God’s Problem Child.” 

“The Duets” also contains what may be some of the last recordings by the late Leon Russell and Montgomery Gentry’s Troy Gentry.

Milsap is slated to perform on the Grand Ole Opry on Oct. 26. Tickets for both shows (7 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.) are available at

“Ronnie Milsap: The Duets” track listing
1. “Southern Boys and Detroit Wheels” featuring Billy Gibbons
2. “Stranger in My House” feat. Luke Bryan
3. “Smoky Mountain Rain” feat. Dolly Parton
4. “Prisoner of the Highway” feat. Jason Aldean
5. “A Woman’s Love” feat. Willie Nelson
6. “Happy, Happy Birthday Baby” feat. Lucy Angel
7. “No Getting Over Me” feat. Kacey Musgraves
8. “Lost in the Fifties Tonight” feat. Little Big Town
9. “Houston Solution” feat. George Strait
10. “What a Woman Can Mean to a Man” feat. Jessie Key
11. “Misery Loves Company” feat. Leon Russell
12. “You’re Nobody” feat. Steven Curtis Chapman
13. “Shaky Ground” feat. Montgomery Gentry

Willie Nelson, Neil Young, Phish, “Moonlight in Vermont” (Live at Farm Aid 1998)

Tuesday, October 9th, 2018

Willie Nelson, Neil Young, Phish and Paul Shaffer perform “Moonlight in Vermont” live at the Farm Aid concert in Tinley Park, Illinois on October 3rd, 1998.

Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson, “Loving Her Was Easier”

Tuesday, October 9th, 2018