Willie Nelson honored at Americana Music Association Award (11/1/07)


Willie Nelson was awarded the Lifetime Achievement for Songwriter last night in Nashville at the AMA awards show, which is part of the Annual Americana Festival and Conference, which began on Wednesday  and will continue until tomorrow (11/3/07).

Patty Griffin and Avett Brothers both won two prices each– Griffin for Artist of the Year and Album of the Year for Children Running Through.  The Avett Brothers won the awards for Duo Group of the Year and New/Emerging Artist.  Townes Van Zandt was honored with the President’s Award.  

Porter Wagoner was also honored by stars performing by performing a medley of his hits, including Emmylou Harris, Buddy Miller, Rodney Crowell, Mike Farris and Jim Lauderdale were among others. Americana Music Director Jed Hilly presented Wagoner’s daughter, Debra Jean, with the American Original Award.

Other AMA winners included Darryl Scott (Song of the Year for Hank Williams’ Ghost), Lyle Lovett (Trailblazer Award), Joe Ely (Lifetime Achievement for Performance) and Buddy Miller (Instrumentalist of the Year).

About the American Music Associaton:

“The Americana Music Association is a professional trade organization whose mission is to provide a forum for the advocacy of Americana music and to promote public awareness of the genre to support the creative and economic viability of professionals in this field. In short, we are a professional trade association dedicated to building and promoting the Americana genre and the individuals who participate in our industry.”


Leave a Reply