Townes Van Zandt cd release: with Willie Nelson, EmmyLou Harris “Texas Rain”


Paste Magazine has reported on their web site, that Fat Possum Records is going to re-release six albums by Townes Van Zandt.  Included will be his first four solo albums, all of which have been out of print for a number of years. The re-releases will be issued on May 1st, 2007, nearly ten and a half year’s after Van Zandt’s death from a pulmonary embolism at age 52 on New Year’s Day 1997.

Titles being re-issued include For The Sake Of The Song (1968), Our Mother The Moutain (1969), Townes Van Zandt (1970), Delta Moma Blues (1971), Flyin’ Shoes (1978), and the 2001 compilation of Van Zandt’s duets, Texas Rain, which includes performances with Emmylou Harris and Willie Nelson, among others.

John Kruth’s has written a biography of Van Zandt: To Live’s to Fly: The Ballad of the Late, Great Townes Van Zandt scheduled to be released May 7th, 2007.

Leave a Reply