“Willie Nelson & Family Farm Aid 2011” album available for purchase on Live Willie (downloads from the road)

downloads from the road

The Willie Nelson & Family and Friends’ concert recording from Farm Aid 2011, in Kansas City, Kansas is available for purchase at www.LiveWillie.com.  I just bought it, and I am loving it.   Sound quality is perfect, right off the soundboard, it’s like being there.  Willie Nelson is joined by Family and friends, Lukas Nelson and promise of the Real band and  Marty Dread, David Amram, Amy Nelson, Jamie Johnson, Jason Mraz, Rebecca Pidgeon, and (almost) everyone at the end.

This is a lot of music for $14.99.  As always, Willie mixes up his play list for the enjoyment of us fans.  The crowd went crazy when Willie broke into, “I’m goin’ to Kansas City!  Kansas City here I come!”  (You can hear the roar on the download).  After this sweet nod to his host city, he tossed out an appropriately rousing version of the anti-corporate ballad, ‘Write Your Own Song.”  Then he played his new song, ‘Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die’ , and  then as many hits as he fit in, and then a moving gospel set, with other Farm Aid performers.   And all the songs are all on the album!    You down load it, then you can listen to it on your computer, or load it on your ipod type device, and I think you can burn it to a cd if you have a cd player in your car or somewhere.  I haven’t tried that yet.

Here’s the set list.  Read this and tell me you aren’t excited about this album:

1. Whiskey River
2. Still is Still Moving to Me
3. Floodin’ Down in Texas (featuring Lukas Nelson guitar, vocals)
4. Mothers and Fathers (Lukas Nelson, dedicated to his mothr Annie, for her birthday)
5.Lend a Hand to the Farmer (with Marty Dread)
6. Kansas City
7. Good Hearted Woman (“Let’s do one for Waylon!”)
8.  Mama, Don’t Let Your Babies Grow up to be Cowboys
9.  (Why Don’t You)  Write Your Own Songs
10.  Will the Circle be Unbroken/I’ll Fly Away
11.  I Saw the Light
12.  Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die

Leave a Reply