Willie Nelson sings with Jeannie Seely on her new album, “

by: Sherod Robertson

Country music artist, Opry star, and beloved Nashville music royalty, Jeannie Seely, is celebrating her 80th birthday today (June 6) with the announcement of her highly-anticipated album, An American Classic, on Curb Records.

The August 14th release is available on all digital music platforms today for pre-order, pre-save and pre-add. The project includes a duet with longtime friend, Willie Nelson, called, “Not A Dry Eye In The House,” available today.

The classic country ballad was written by singer/songwriter Dallas Wayne, who also serves as an on-air personality on SiriusXM Ch. 59, Willie’s Roadhouse, where Seely is a weekly host every Sunday afternoon on her show, Sunday’s With Seely.

Click here for the album.

“I don’t know what I envisioned my 80th birthday would look like, but I never imagined I’d start the day with Coffee, Cody and Country, on WSM 650 and Circle TV!,” exclaims Seely. “To have a duet with Willie Nelson be the first song released from my upcoming album is icing on the cake…the cake being this album called An American Classic. You don’t get more classic than Willie Nelson, and ‘Not A Dry Eye In The House’ is the perfect example of a classic country song. This is the best 80th birthday gift I could ever imagine. Thank you Don Cusic, B! Noticed PR and Curb Records!”

Curb Professor of Music Industry History at Belmont University, Don Cusic, shares, “This is real country music! Jeannie Seely is a living legend and Grammy Award winner. She is ‘Country Soul,’ and her soulful vocals are evident on this album, which showcases her versatile talents. She is a favorite of fans, as well as country singers who admire and respect her talent and love her as a classy lady. The title of this album, An American Classic fits her perfectly. The album, like Jeannie, is An American Classic.”

The album’s Executive Producer is Jim Ed Norman. The idea for the project was curated by Cusic who oversaw production, with help from country music icon Ray Stevens on the song “To Make A Dream Come True.”

Jeannie Seely – An American Classic Track List:
1. “So Far, So Good” – Penn Pennington, Mitch Ballard (Recorded with The Whites’ Sharon and Cheryl White)

2. “If You Could Call It That” – Dottie West, Steve Wariner, Bobby Tomberlin (Recorded with Steve Wariner)

3. “To Make a Dream Come True” – C.W. “Buddy Kalb” Jr.

4. “Teach Me Tonight” – Sammy Cahn, Gene De Paul

5. “Can I Sleep in Your Arms Tonight, Mister” – Hank Cochran

6. “All Through Crying Over You’” – Jeannie Seely (Recorded with Rhonda Vincent)

7. “When Two Worlds Collide” – Roger Miller, Bill Anderson (Recorded with Bill Anderson)

8. “Not a Dry Eye in the House” – Dallas Wayne (Recorded with Willie Nelson)

9. “Peaceful Waters”- Don Cusic

10. “Old Flames (Can’t Hold a Candle to You)” – Pebe Sebert, Hugh Moffatt (Recorded with Waylon Payne)

11. “That’s How I Roll” – Tim Atwood, Brent Ronen (Recorded with Lorrie Morgan on vocals, Vince Gill on guitar)

12. “Don’t Touch Me” – Hank Cochran

13. “Dance Tonight” – Paul McCartney  (Recorded with Ray Stevens)

Here they are singing together a few years back:

Leave a Reply