Sirius/XM to preview Willie Nelson’s new ‘Naked’ album, with Mickey Raphael next weekend


1. Bring Me Sunshine
2. Following Me Around
3. The Ghost
4. Happiness Lives Next Door
5. I Just Dropped By
6. Jimmy’s Road
7. I Let My Mind Wander
8. If You Could See What’s Going Through My Mind
9. Johnny One Time
10. The Local Memory
11. The Party’s Over
12. Where Do You Stand?
13. When We Live Again
14. What Can You Do To Me Now?
15. I’m A Memory
16. Sunday Morning Coming Down
17. Laying My Burdens Down

Nearly a decade before he pioneered the Outlaw Country movement and became an international superstar, Willie Nelson was a struggling recording artist trying to make a name for himself within the Nashville establishment. He recorded numerous albums for RCA under the supervision of Chet Atkins during the ’60s, but the sessions were laden with string sections and backing vocals and he never scored a major hit.

Now Willie’s longtime harmonica player Mickey Raphael has gone back to the original master tapes, and stripped them down to the raw essence of Willie’s voice, guitar and small combo backing. The reissue is called Naked Willie, and is being released on Tuesday, March 17.  On March 13th and 14th, Willie’s Place, on Sirius/XM Radio will be playing tracks from the new album,  along with comments from Mickey Raphael.

Leave a Reply