Willie Nelson, Grace Potter, Jason Isbell and More Contribute to Muscle Shoals Tribute Album


A new compilation album entitled Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound will celebrate the iconic sound of Muscle Shoals, AL, and will feature contributions from Willie Nelson, Grace Potter, Jason Isbell, Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler, Chris Stapleton and many more.

As Billboard reports, the project began after the passing of Rick Hall, owner of the legendary FAME studio, early this year, prompting his son Rodney and partner Keith Stegall to call upon a number of artists to re-record some classic tunes that were recorded in Muscle Shoals and contributed to the massive catalog of tracks cut at FAME by artists like Etta James, Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones and The Staple Singers, among others.

“The sound is one-of-a-kind,” Rodney Hall says. “When younger artists hear all of the music that came out of here over the past five decades, they want to check it out. This album is special because it brings together artists that have been inspired by the magic of the Muscle Shoals Sound.”

“Returning to Muscle Shoals to record a track at FAME Studios was like being given the chance to return to my youth for a day,” Michael McDonald tells Billboard. “So much of the music that shaped my consciousness was recorded right here, on this spot, in this building and with, for the most part, these very musicians. It will always rank among my most cherished memories.” McDonald recorded a version of Etta James’ “Cry Like a Rainy Day” for the collection.

Other artists appearing on Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound include Alison Krauss, Aloe Blacc, Keb’ Mo’, Vince Gill, Kid Rock, Bling Boys of Alabama, Eli “Paperboy” Reed, Lee Ann Womack and more. See the full tracklist and album art below, along with a trailer for the project. Also listen to Steven Tyler and Nuno Bettencourt’s take on The Rolling Stones’ “Brown Sugar.”

A portion of the proceeds from Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound will go to the Grammy Foundation and the Muscle Shoals Music Foundation. Pre-order the album here.

Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound Tracklist:

1. The Road Of Love – Keb’ Mo’
2. I’d Rather Go Blind – Grace Potter
3. Brown Sugar – Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt
4. Gotta Serve Somebody – Jamey Johnson, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton & Lee Ann Womack
5. Steal Away – Eli “Paperboy” Reed
6. Snatching It Back – Kid Rock
7. I’ll Take You There – Aloe Blacc
8. Cry Like A Rainy Day – Michael McDonald
9. True Love – Vince Gill & Wendy Moten
10. Come And Go Blues – Alison Krauss
11. Respect Yourself – Mike Farris with The Blind Boys of Alabama
12. Wild Horses – Alan Jackson
13. Mustang Sally – Brently Stephen Smith of Shinedown
14. We’ve Got Tonight – Chord Overstreet
15. Giving It Up For Your Love – Tom Johnston & Delbert McClinton
16. I Ain’t Easy To Love – Candi Staton with Jason Isbell & John Paul White

Read more: http://www.jambands.com/news/2018/08/31/willie-nelson-grace-potter-jason-isbell-and-more-contribute-to-new-muscle-shoals-tribute-album#ixzz5PuymyRJI


Leave a Reply