Willie Nelson sings on Jimmy Webb Album, “Just Across the River”

Jimmy Webb

by Nancy Dunham
via www.theboot.com

Legendary singer-songwriter Jimmy Webb has invited many of his musical friends and colleagues — including Vince Gill, Willie Nelson, Glen Campbell, J.D. Souther and Lucinda Williams — to guest on his upcoming album ‘Just Across The River.’

Even those that don’t know Jimmy’s name have heard the countless hit songs he’s written including ‘By the Time I Get to Phoenix,’ ‘Wichita Lineman,’ ‘Galveston,’ “MacArthur Park,’ and ‘Up, Up and Away.’ He also happens to be the only artist to receive Grammys for music, lyrics, and orchestration, and no less than the legendary Frank Sinatra was quoted as saying of Jimmy : “He has been blessed with the emotions and artistic talent of the great lyricists.”

Producer and longtime collaborator Fred Mollin developed the idea for the album as a way to honor Jimmy’s storied career and his celebrated contributions to the Americana roots tradition.

“This record is a homecoming for Jimmy,” says Mollin in a statement about the Oklahoma native. “His songs are true classics, and they could provide the soundtrack to your life.”

The album was primarily recorded live during two days at Sound Emporium in Nashville. Guests who joined Jimmy in the studio included former Dire Strait’s frontman Mark Knopfler, who played lead electric guitar on ‘By The Time I Get to Phoenix,’ and the much-heralded guitar master Johnny A. who played electric guitar on ‘Galveston.’

“From the very first song, first take, first note this record seemed blessed,” says Jimmy. “I hope everyone else feels what we did as we listened to the first rough mixes. And then as each piece fell into place, a fully realized, conceptual work of art emerged.”

The track listing and guest singers and players on the new album follows:

1.  Oklahoma Nights’ featuring Vince Gill
2.  ‘Wichita Lineman’ featuring Billy Joel
3.  ‘If You See Me Getting Smaller’ featuring Willie Nelson
4.  ‘Galveston’ featuring Lucinda Williams
5.  ‘P.F. Sloan’ featuring Jackson Browne
6.  ‘By the Time I Get to Phoenix’ featuring Glen Campbell
7.  ‘Cowboy Hall of Fame’
8.  ‘Where Words End’ featuring Michael McDonald
9.  ‘Highwayman’ featuring Mark Knopfler
10. ‘I Was Too Busy Loving You’ featuring J.D. Souther
11. ‘It Won’t Bring Her Back’
12. ‘Do What You Gotta Do
13. ‘All I Know’ featuring Linda Ronstadt

Leave a Reply